Rachel Cohn and David Levithan’s Nick & Norah’s infinite playlist


Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn | LibraryThing

Cohn, R., & Levithan, D. (2006). Nick & Norah’s infinite playlist. New York: Knopf. 9780375835315

Reasons for Reading : Okay, as a music lover, I couldn’t pass up an opportunity to read a book about other music lovers. I requested Nick & Norah’s infinite playlist through HCPL.

Summary : Nick sees his ex-girlfriend heading his way at a concert. He turns to the girl next to him, Norah, and asks her “Will you be my girlfriend for the next five minutes?” Thus, the adventure of Nick and Norah begins.

What I Liked : The idea of a five minute relationship has potential for a great novel. Mostly, Cohn and Levithan navigated this concept well.

I appreciated how Cohn wrote from Norah’s point of view while Levithan handled Nick’s angle. Also, I liked that Cohn wrote the part of the female character and left the male character to Levithan.

It was cool seeing how Nick’s bandmate came through for him, too.

What I Disliked :  While I know a few things about music, I barely knew of the existence of “queer core.” Also, I didn’t like the dig at Weezer.

I doubt Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist would be good for the less mature teenager. There’s lots of cussing (i.e. the name of Nick’s band) and sexual situations.

Three Out of Five Pearls

Song: (Where’s Fluffy Music) – Last Words – YouTube

Setting : New York City

You might also like:

For more on Rachel Cohn and David Levithan’s Nick & Norah’s infinite playlist, check out the following sites:
 
 

2 thoughts on “Rachel Cohn and David Levithan’s Nick & Norah’s infinite playlist

  1. I thank you for following my books blog.

    If you are interested in reading a new novel, one that circles around vampires, werewolves, murder and a prophecy, please consider checking out ‘Hyblood: First Book of the Wolva Trilogy’ on Amazon.com. It’s available in eBook and paperback form.

    Thank you again!

  2. Pingback: Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower « Jorie's Reads

Leave a Reply

