1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die



Several months ago, one of my best friends asked me, “How many of them have you read?” These were the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. I was sad that I had read less than 3% of the books listed. Some of these books were ones I had not even finished. I asked myself “Who came up with this?”

Since the time I first received the list, I found out there was a whole book on this. After checking it out from HCPL and scanning it, I have gone to work on this list. As described on the 43 Things Site:

Each work of literature listed here is a seminal work key to understanding and appreciating the written word. These works have been handpicked by a team of international critics and literary luminaries, including Derek Attridge (world expert on James Joyce), Cedric Watts (renowned authority on Joseph Conrad and Graham Greene), Laura Marcus (noted Virginia Woolf expert), and David Mariott (poet and expert on African-American literature), among some twenty others. (Description from Amazon.com)

I doubt that I will ever read all of these. In fact, I nearly refuse to read some of these works. Yet, it’s a nice diversion and I find it interesting that a group of people could meet some sort of consensus on what was best. I even found a terrific Excel spreadsheet on the Arukiyomi site specifically for this book list. There are book reviews, too. Several of the books I will review will be on the 1001 Books list. I hope you enjoy my latest selections. Comments are encouraged!

~ Jorie

One thought on “1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die

  1. Thanks for the link Jorie. I’m glad you find the spreadsheet useful.

    Can I suggest that you allow anonymous comments on your blog so that people without Google or Blogger accounts can post?

Leave a Reply

