Top Ten Books I Wish I’d Read as a Kid | Top Ten Tuesday


Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This meme was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!
Each week we will post a new Top Ten list complete with one of our bloggers answers. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND post a comment on our post with a link to your Top Ten Tuesday post to share with us and all those who are participating. If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. If you can’t come up with ten, don’t worry about it—post as many as you can!

THE TOPIC FOR NEXT WEEK IS: Top Ten Best Debut Books (of any year..just your favorite debut books. If you want, you can focus on debuts of 2011 but I’d like to include any debut books for those who read older works). Check out future TTT topics.
  1. A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton Porter – My mom read and liked this book when she was a kid. For whatever reason, I was too busy reading The Babysitter’s Club.
  2. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry – I didn’t read this one until I was twenty-four. Nevertheless, I was taken in by the artistry of not only the illustrations but the phrases.
  3. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle – Several of my friends read this book as kids but I still have yet to read it. My TBR list is growing.
  4. Profiles in Courage by John F. Kennedy – As enthusiastic as I was about biographies, I somehow missed this one.
  5. Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing by Judi & Ron Barrett – I didn’t discover this gem until I was an adult.  One of my coworkers read this to preschoolers and I was laughing right along with them.
  6. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll – I read this one a few months ago. As a child, I found the Disney feature nightmarish. Perhaps I could’ve overcome my fears if I’d actually read the book then. It’s not my favorite book ever but it is still pervasive.
  7. The Lorax by Dr. Seuss – Okay, I made the mistake of reading this to giddy preschoolers when I was twenty-six years old. If I’d read it as a child, I would’ve known better.
  8. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain –  Well, I enjoyed The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. It’s likely I could’ve liked Tom Sawyer, too. Also, one of my favorite characters on “Lost”, Sawyer a.k.a. James Ford, was modeled after Tom Sawyer.
  9. Life of Pi by Yann Martel – This book wasn’t around when I was a kid but I liked it as an adult. The messages carried by Pi and Richard Parker show what God creatures can do.
  10. The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas – I loved the Disney movie with Chris O’Donnell, Charlie Sheen, Kiefer Sutherland, and Oliver Platt. It’s a wonder I never read the book — until I consider that it’s the size of Luxembourg.
2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Wish I’d Read as a Kid | Top Ten Tuesday

  1. +JMJ+

    This is a lovely mix of books! I’m glad to see a non-fiction title made the cut. =)

    PS–The Baby-sitters Club made my list–so I wouldn’t say you missed out on too much!

  2. Oh! The Three Musketeers is one I didn’t think about, but I’m pretty sure I would have loved it way back when. LOL

    I also have Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland on my list, but primarily because I think I would have ignored all the politics of it and just enjoyed the story.

    Great choices!

Leave a Reply

