Top Ten Characters I’d Name My Children After | Top Ten Tuesday


Top Ten Tuesday | The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This meme was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list complete with one of our bloggers’ answers. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND post a comment on our post with a link to your Top Ten Tuesday post to share with us and all those who are participating. If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. If you can’t come up with ten, don’t worry about it—post as many as you can!

Next week the topic is: Top Ten Favorite Love Stories In Books. See a list of future TTT here.

So, this week is “Top Ten Characters (and Literary Figures) That I’d Name My Children After”

  1. Jo March of Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – While Beth was perhaps my favorite March sister, I admired Jo the most. She was smart, talented, and exceeded expectations. Also, she didn’t need to marry a guy such as Laurie to define herself and this was in the 1860s.
  2. Geoffrey Chaucer – He was one of my favorite authors. In Anya Seton’s Katherine, Chaucer is the titular figure’s brother in-law. He had such a creative mind and I wish he’d been able to finish The Canterbury Tales.
  3. Melanie Wilkes of Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – While Scarlett doggedly chased after her husband, Melanie was both kind and gentle towards her.
  4. Samuel of The Bible – another literary figure – He was the last judge in Israel and my favorite person in the Old Testament.
  5. Taylor of The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver – I wasn’t completely impressed by this character’s name but I loved how she renamed herself. If you’re curious, please read the book.
  6. Ariel of The Tempest by William Shakespeare – He’s unsinkable and rises above his circumstances.
  7. Esperanz of Esperanza Rising by Pam Muñoz Ryan – This character perseveres through the process of going from riches to rags. Her name is beautiful as well.
  8. Rick of “Castle” – The TV show about a mystery writer has spawned books by the same guy.
  9. Katherine Solomon of The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown – I’m not the biggest fan of these Robert Langdon books but I liked this character. I hope Mr. Brown brings her back in the next Langdon.
  10. Rowan from Anna to the Infinite Power by Mildred Ames – While I don’t imagine naming a boy Rowan, I did like this character and found the moniker intriguing.
One thought on “Top Ten Characters I’d Name My Children After | Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

