The Book of Joshua


Joshue, the first book of the Bible I completed in the Bible-Reading Challenge 2011

* Bible Log – 2011 « Jorie’s Reads

Joshua – NIV archaeological study Bible: An Illustrated walk through Biblical history and culture. (2005). Grand Rapids, Mich: Zondervan. 9780310938521.

This is my second year to attempt the Read through the Bible. Creator Michael Coley has a daily Bible reading plan outlined, helping participants to read in a year’s time. Throughout the week, I’ve been reading seven different parts of the Bible. Tuesday nights are for reading the Histories. Joshua was the first book I’ve finished in this challenge as well as a History. This year, I have resolved to do all this Bible reading in my Archeological Study Bible. This particular version possesses great side/margin articles, outlines, and beautiful pictures from the places.

An Old Testament book, Joshua is the first book of the Nevi’im, the second part of the Jewish canon. After Moses dies, his appointed successor, Joshua, son of Nun, is commanded by God to lead the Hebrews across the Jordan River. With Joshua, God holds up His end of the covenant with the Hebrews, regaining the Promised Land. The first twelve chapters, Part I, focus on Joshua’s heroic leadership of God’s people and the restoration of Canaan. Of course, this is when walls of Jericho come tumbling down as the song goes. Part II, (Chapter 13 – 22) focuses on the division of the land amongst the tribes of Israel. The Conclusion, Part III, holds Joshua’s farewell address, the covenant at Shechem, and the deaths of Joshua and Eleazer, a Levite priest and nephew of Moses. Throughout the book, Joshua’s devotion to God radiates from the pages. Oh, and God never fails!

Yes, I found some Joshua tedious, especially the division and distribution of Israel. However, the first part is pure marvel to me. One of the margin notes addresses Rahab’s the Prostitute’s house and it’s placement. It even contains one of my favorite passages

Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their ancestors to give them.7 “Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. 8 Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. 9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” (1:6-9)

I’m proud I’ve gotten this far and please wish me well in this endeavor. Did I mention that this was my sole new year’s resolution?

For more on Joshua and Bible-Reading Challenge, check out the following links:

Leave a Reply

