Top Ten Bookish Pet Peeves | Top Ten Tuesday


Top Ten Tuesday | The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

This week the LOVELY Ginger from GReads is doing a guest post Top Ten Tuesday about her top ten bookish pet peeves because we ran into a jam here on the blog this week with Top Ten Tuesday and Ginger volunteered to step  up so I could have this for you all in a timely manner 🙂

Next week– Top Ten Authors That Deserve More Recognition

Being a librarian as well as a library patron, all of my pet peeves pertain to library books.

1. Barcodes/ Labels/ Stickers on book covers: This especially annoys me when the title, a character’s face, or the ISBN is obscured. Yes, I know libraries don’t want merchandise to “grow feet and walk” but it’s vandalism in my eyes.

2. Smelly books: No, I’m not talking about the scratch and sniff Strawberry Shortcake ones. Rather, I mean when the previous reader has been smoking and has left his/her scent. It’s awful when my eyes water and my nose run.

3. Paperbacks in general: Yes, I understand it’s cheaper production. . . but they’re so ephemeral. I feel guilty when I turn in a mangled looking book but it’s hard to avoid when it’s mass market. I do love library binding.

4. Rude folks who maim books: Hey, it’s your right to not like Darwinism, Wicca, sex, violence, or Dave Chapelle. Yet, don’t staple pages together, rip pages, or mark out passages you don’t find agreeable. Here’s a thought; check out something else.

5. When all 15 of my requested items arrive at the same time: So many books, so little time. Yet, I’m glad I know how to suspend my hold requests.

6. Folks who don’t return books on time: Hey, I’ve been guilty of this myself. Still and all, it gripes me when I’m the next person in line for the book.

7. Books returned in bad condition: When your dog barfs on your library books, please pay for it. No one else can read it!

8. Highlighted and/or underlined passages: They’re not textbooks. I bought mine; buy your own.

9. Books that should come with CDs but don’t: These also seem to walk.

10. Looking for a book and finding it on the bottom shelf: Yes, I’m 5’8, so bending down to pull something off of the floor practically irks me.

One thought on “Top Ten Bookish Pet Peeves | Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Haha, I like your #5, I forgot about this but it does tend to irk me when it happens because then I feel pressured to read so many books all at once before I have to return them to the library.

Leave a Reply

