Beth Revis’ Across the Universe


Across the Universe by Beth Revis | LibraryThing

Across the Universe by Beth Revis | LibraryThing

Revis, B. (2011). Across the universe. New York: Razorbill. 9781595143976

One of my colleagues recommended this book to me. Since that’s not my favorite Beatles song, I wasn’t interested. Saying just as much, my coworker said it had little to do with the song. As I was “between books” so to speak, I pulled Across the Universe off the shelf and checked it out by the end of the workday. I began reading it on a Friday night and finished it the following Sunday. Did I mention it was around 400 pages long?

Sometime in the near future, our first narrator Amy and her parents embark on a trip, taking them from Planet Earth to Centauri-Earth. Since the trip takes 300 years, Amy’s geneticist mother and military father are frozen in time with cryogenic technology. Amy’s also put under. However, she has dreams and nightmares.

The second narrator is Elder, a teenage boy who has known only life in the Godspeed. He will be the leader of the Godspeed society when he grows up. When someone puts Amy and others out to thaw, Amy meets Elder and the others controlled by Eldest, the sinister tyrant. Amy and Elder team up to save the ship and their own lives.  

This book was quite the page turner. I liked the conflict, appreciated the questions that Revis asks of the reader, and mostly, I enjoyed the challenge of thinking. Of course, I didn’t care for everything and had a question or two after I finished the book. My coworker and I wondered if a sequel is on the way. I’ve since discovered there are more to come! My only other complaint was that Amy seemed a little immature for a seventeen year old girl. As Across the Universe is Revis’ debut novel, I will give her a break. Her next book will be better.

It’s worth mentioning that this book is for older teens. Some events within the covers are: mating/sex, violence, and suicide. However, I don’t believe the author championed any of these issues.

Three Out of Five Pearls

Song: YouTube – Across the Universe | The Beatles 

Places : Earth, Centauri-Earth, USS Godspeed 

You might also like:

For more on Beth Revis’ Across the universe, check out the following sites:

