Books I’m So Happy Were Recommended To Me | Top Ten Tuesday


Top Ten Tuesday | The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This meme was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists! Each week we will post a new Top Ten list complete with one of our bloggers’ answers. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND fill out Mr. Linky  . I
If you can’t come up with ten, don’t worry about it—post as many as you can!
May 10: Top Ten Jerks In Literature ( all those jerky guys in books..those who truly WERE asshats and those who just acted like one but could be quite loveable)

1. Across the Universe by Beth Revis – Oddly enough, the title itself was a turnoff for me. I’d heard the song and seen that weird movie. Still and all, one of my coworkers convinced me it had very little to do with either.

2. Holes by Louis Sachar – When I was a kid, I adored Louis Sachar. However, I didn’t think I’d feel the same. I read Holes soon after I graduated from college and before I got a regular job. It was fantastic and Sachar lived up to my childhood standards.

3. The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz – This was purely a recommendation from our literary mags that we’re required to read at work. Since the title suggests death, I wasn’t too crazy about the prospect of reading this. Yet, despite all the footnotes, I truly enjoyed this book.

4. The French Lieutenant’s Woman by John Fowles – Victorian lit isn’t really my bag but the same colleague who recommended Across the Universe suggested I read this one during Christmas break. It changed the way I read.

5. Delivering Happiness by Tony Hsieh – I’m trying to step out of my fiction haven and more into Non-Fiction. When another one of my coworkers actually had me read a couple of pages from this book, I rushed over to check out the book. I’m still reading it but it’s a good read and Hsieh’s not pretentious.

One thought on “Books I’m So Happy Were Recommended To Me | Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I read Oscar Wao on a recommendation as well. I’m glad I did, although it wasn’t my favorite. I also have French Lieutenant’s Woman on my list.

    Check out my list here

Leave a Reply

