Stephen Greenblatt’s Will in the World . . .


Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare by Stephen Greenblatt | LibraryThing

Greenblatt, S., & Fernandez, P. J. (2004). Will in the world: How Shakespeare became Shakespeare. Prince Frederick, Md: Recorded Books. 9781419307607

I needed another audiobook. I also wanted non-fiction as I’m participating in the

2011 Non-Fiction Challenge

. When I saw a biography of Shakespeare, I was pleased. My love of the Bard has led me to take an elective on some of his plays and to the Folger Shakespeare Library.
Harvard professor Stephen Greenblatt discovers and fleshes out William Shakespeare by delving into Shakespeare’s works. Through his plays, Greenblatt sees a precocious son of a glover and a gifted wordsmith. By this method, the author argues that Shakespeare really wrote his own stuff.

My only complaint here is that since I’ve not read all of Shakespeare’s works, I didn’t recognize all the references or each nuance which supported Greenblatt’s argument. Nevertheless, I could see Shakespeare’s love for his daughter Susanna in plays such as King Lear and The Tempest. Also, I still marvel at the Bard’s genius in Hamlet and Othello.

Four Out of Five Pearls

Places: Merry Old England

 
You might also like:

 For more on Stephen Greenblatt’s Will in the World…, check out the following:

3 thoughts on “Stephen Greenblatt’s Will in the World . . .

  1. Pingback: Stacy Schiff’s Cleopatra: A Life « Jorie's Reads

  2. Pingback: Denise Rinaldo’s Julius Caesar: Dictator (A Wicked History) « Jorie's Reads

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Posts On Jorie’s Read That Would Give The BEST Picture of Jorie « Jorie's Reads

Leave a Reply

