Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love


  • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert | LibraryThing

    Gilbert, E. (2006). Eat, pray, love: [one woman’s search for everything across Italy, India and Indonesia]. New York: Penguin Audio. 9780143058526

As I sought more material for the 2011 Non-Fiction Challenge, I requested Eat, Pray, Love through HCPL.  While I hardly recommend watching the movie before reading the book, I saw the film just a month or so before requesting the audio.

Thirty-something Elizabeth “Liz” Gilbert seems to have everything. She’s a successful writer and she’s married. Yet, she is completely miserable. So, after a bitter divorce and a tempestuous relationship with a younger guy, Liz seeks out pleasure and spiritual devotion. She treks through Italy, India, and Indonesia (Bali) during one year and journals her self-discovery.

There were some points I didn’t care for in the book but I’m really pleased that I checked out this audiobook. The book seemed natural and authentic, especially since Liz also narrated. It even led me to check out what is considered a sequel to Eat, Pray, Love. While I don’t agree with her on some spiritual aspects, I appreciated Liz relating her views.

Four Out of Five Pearls

Places: United States, Italy, India, Indonesia, Southeast Asia

Song:  YouTube – ‪Florence + The Machine – Dog Days Are Over (2010 Version)‏

You might also like:

    • Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
    • Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage by Elizabeth Gilbert
    • Siddhartha by Herman Hesse

 For more on Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love, check out the following:

 

 

5 thoughts on “Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love

  1. I´m reading the book right know, i’ve not seen the movie yet and will wait untill i’ve finished the book. However, did you like it? The type of authoring? And I also wonder if you know if Liz did all this or if it´s just a maid-up story?

    Hasta luego!
    Maria

  2. Maria,

    I liked the book pretty well. While I don’t agree with her on all spiritual matters, I found the book interesting enough to finish. I believe this is a memoir and I do believe Liz did all of this.

    Thanks for visiting!

  3. Pingback: Elizabeth Gilbert’s Committed. . . « Jorie's Reads

  4. Pingback: Julie Powell’s Julie and Julia « Jorie's Reads

  5. Pingback: Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin’s Three Cups of Tea… « Jorie's Reads

Leave a Reply

