Jennifer Close’s Girls in White Dresses


Close, J., & Card, E. J. (2011). Girls in white dresses. New York, NY: Books on Tape/Random House Audio. 9780307939340

Girls In White Dresses by Jennifer Close | LibraryThing

Girls In White Dresses by Jennifer Close | LibraryThing

Reasons for Reading : I desperately sought out another audiobook for my work commute. I spot this on one of the shelving carts.

Summary: Broken into short story-like chapters, author Jennifer Close relays various vignettes about twenty-something single women. The main characters – Isabella, Mary, and Lauren – have much experience as bridesmaids. Throughout Girls in White Dresses, these three and others have the chance to share snippets of their lives.

What I Liked : These stories were pretty humorous. The chapter entitled “Hope” had me laughing my head off when I wasn’t nodding in agreement.

I felt I knew these characters pretty well before the end of the first chapter. I don’t completely identify with these women but I’ve met people similar to these characters.

What I Disliked : This pertains only to the audiobook version – the sole narrator did something weird with her voice when she read Lauren’s parts.

Additionally, it wasn’t always simple to keep track of the who was who in each chapter. Maybe that’s why the narrator gave Lauren an odd voice.

Three Out of Five Pearls

Song: Glee – My Favorite Things (Official Video) – YouTube

Setting : New York City, Chicago, Boston

You might also like:

For more on Jennifer Close’s Girls in White Dresses, check out the following sites:
 
5 thoughts on “Jennifer Close’s Girls in White Dresses

  1. Pingback: Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s The Dirty Girls Social Club « Jorie's Reads

  2. Pingback: Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s Dirty Girls on Top « Jorie's Reads

  3. Pingback: Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s Playing with Boys « Jorie's Reads

  4. Pingback: Alisa Valdes’ Lauren’s Saints of Dirty Faith « Jorie's Reads

  5. Pingback: Meg Waite Clayton’s The Four Ms. Bradwells « Jorie's Reads

Leave a Reply

