March Reader of the Month – Janette L.


Janette L. kicks back with a few books

This is the third interview for Reader of the Month.

Four years ago, I applied for a reference librarian position in Clear Lake. Soon after, the branch librarian called me and set up an interview. After the interview, the assistant branch librarian gave me a tour. During this visit, she introduced me to Janette L.

When I started at Freeman, Janette and I became fast friends. Janette is the “Go-To Woman” on many things at the library. This includes all sorts of reading.

1. What’s the best thing you’ve read in the past year?

I would have to say it is a toss up between 3 online items that I read faithfully:

Volume 6 Bonus Wallpaper: Drama!

Girl Genius Online  – a webcomic of Romance, Adventure and Mad Science!  For Romance, Adventure and Mad Science!

Whatever – a blog by writer John Scalzi. For Whatever

Sciguy  – a science blog with Eric Berger. For weather, science stuff & Katy evac jokes

2. Do you have any quirks when it comes to reading?

I can get so absorbed in my reading that I would not hear someone next to me talking.  I discovered this in 3rdgrade when we had a free reading period. I remember looking up and realizing that we were now 15 minutes into the next lesson section.  I was able to switch out books undetected.  Because of this, I usually don’t read books during lunch at work.

3. What’s on your bookshelf or in your book bag?

There is a reason why I have a t-shirt with “Bibliovore” on it.  I admit to leanings towards science fiction, fantasy, mysteries, horror, nonfiction & technical manuals

4. Who supplies your reading material?

The majority comes from the Clear Lake City-County Freeman Library.  Other sources are the Friends of Freeman Bookstore, Half Price Books (in Clear Lake), and Amazon

5. What type of reading do you usually enjoy?

See #3 🙂

6. Who are some authors that you read regardless of anything?

Mercedes Lackey, Anne McCaffery (RIP), Sandra Boynton, and more.  Again see #3

7. What’s on your TBR (to be read) list?

Again see #3.  Due to how voraciously I ready, this can change daily.  I can consume several hundred pages in mere hours.

Bibliovore

8. Can you recall a book that changed your life? How so?

I read a book on space exploration that had been written by Arthur C. Clarke in the 60’s.  I used it as a reference for a report that started “Beep…..beep…..beep…..” then went on to explain about Sputnik, what had followed and what the future could hold.

I then found that Clarke also wrote science FICTION, and went on to discover Asimov, Heinlein and haven’t stopped yet.

9. What was something you enjoyed reading as a child?

Andrew Lang’s Fairy books, these are collections of fairy tales.  Each book has a color in its name.  The Red Fairy Book is one example. There were about a dozen of them & had illustrations.

10. Where do you like to read?

Anywhere comfortable – I usually take a book for reading or puzzles to work when I go anywhere, just in case.

11. Other than reading, what do you like doing?

Fixing things

12. Where can we find you online?

See #1.  Elsewise, I am recently on Google+, if you want to follow me at ireadalota at gmail.com .  You could find me boring.  Be warned, my spam filters are set high, if I get unfamiliar email with odd subject lines.

13. Would you like to make a shout out to any other avid readers that are online?

14. How about sharing five random facts about you?

I have a BS in Mechanical Engineering. I once asked for a vise with anvil plate for Christmas and got one.  I own a 5ft ax with a 14 inch wide blade named “Sir”. 

Leatherman

I can fix many things using just my Leatherman.  I work in a Public Library as a Reference Assistant.

4 thoughts on “March Reader of the Month – Janette L.

  1. Pingback: Jorie’s Bookish Best Friends | Top Ten Tuesday | Jorie's Reads

  2. Pingback: October 2013 Reader of the Month – Emily M. | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

  3. Pingback: Amazon Gift Card Winner – 2014 Bloggerversary Giveaway | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

  4. Pingback: Update on Reading Rainbow Campaign | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

Leave a Reply

