Top Ten Books Jorie Has Risked Fines to Finish


Top Ten Tuesday | The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists! Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists.

Click here to see the upcoming topics!

I added the twist of my having to pay lates fees in order to finish these books. Please consider it more a confession than a boast. Also, I do not endorse keeping your books past the due date 🙂 .

  1. Stephen King’s 11/22/63 
  2. Kenneth C. Davis’ Don’t Know Much About History. . .
  3. Sarah Addison Allen’s The Girl Who Chased the Moon
  4. Jeffrey Eugenides’ The Marriage Plot 
  5. Kathryn Stockett’s The Help
  6. Stieg Larsson’s The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest
  7. Suzanne Collins’ Mockingjay
  8. Rebecca Skloot’s The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks  
  9. Sarah Dessen’s What Happened to Goodbye?  
  10. John Luerssen’s Rivers’ Edge: The Weezer Story  
6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Jorie Has Risked Fines to Finish

  1. Interesting. I read quite a bit and run a book review website myself, so I’m fascinated by what people put on these kinds of lists. I’ve been interested in how people respond to the Stieg Larsson books. I’ve heard quite a bit about how violent and gruesome they are, especially in the details about sexual assaults against women. Did you personally read those books, and if so, how did you respond to those parts of the books? As a Christian myself, I try to avoid that stuff, so I’m curious as to your reactions.

    • Thanks for checking out my blog, lifeandlims! . . . Everyone who has mentioned the sexual assaults against women taking place in Larsson’s Millenium Trilogy are correct. It was pretty hard to stomach but Larsson does not endorse such. Rather, he warns against it and wrote these books as a tribute to an assaulted woman that he didn’t save. With that in mind and the ultimate triumph protagonist Lisbeth Salander experiences in the third book, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, I was okay it as a Christian.

  2. I tend to avoid getting fines at all costs (you know, being a librarian and all), but sometimes I do and it’s always books that I put off too long and then can’t put down because I have to finish! Great list – and thanks for stopping by!

  3. I’ve read mixed reviews of King’s 11/22/63. I thought I might read it initially, but some have said it’s too long and not as good as his earlier stuff. Clearly you enjoyed it, since you suffered library fines to read it. What did you like about it?

    I haven’t read MOCKINGJAY yet. I’ve read THE HUNGER GAMES and will get to the next two soon, now that I’ve seen the movie. Promise! 🙂

    • Thanks for visiting my site, Colin! . . . I’m actually reading 11/22/63 right now. I think I’m on page 539 out of an 849 page book. It’s due Saturday and I’ve got other stuff to do (i.e. work, bathe, eat, drive, etc.) So, I imagine I’ll be accruing fees starting next week.

Leave a Reply

