Seeing the Story – The Firm


The Firm | Wikipedia

Cruise, T., Hackman, G., Tripplehorn, J., Davis, J., Rudin, S., Pollack, S., Paramount Pictures Corporation., … Mirage Productions. (2000). The firm. Hollywood, Calif.: Paramount.

Reasons for Watching: I saw the movie around the time it came out . . . on VHS. When I eventually picked up the audiobook, I discovered I was comparing it to a movie I’d thought I’d forgotten. Well, this time, I requested and checked it out from HCPL.

Summary : Young Mitch McDeere (Tom Cruise) is ready to reap what he has sown. After years of sacrifice, he will graduate from Harvard Law and work in the prosperous world of tax law. When he’s approached by Bendini, Lambert & Locke, a prestigious Memphis law firm, he cannot turn down their offer. So, he and his lovely wife, Abby (Jeanne Tripplehorn) soon move to Memphis. The Firm assigns Avery Tolar (Gene Hackman) to be his mentor.  

Things are dandy. The McDeeres receive a house, a car, and lots of dough. Then, two associates at The Firm mysteriously die and the FBI contacts Mitch. At this point, the McDeeres find themselves in a waking nightmare.  

Book to Movie Adaptation : A number of events from the book didn’t make it to the movie. For a rather exhaustive list of the differences, check out this link at Wikipedia. I don’t want to spoil the ending of either work.  

Review : After reading the book, I imagined Mitch McDeere being more like Josh Lucas than Tom Cruise. Nonetheless, I consider this one of Cruise’s best roles. It amused me to see him tower over the petite Holly Hunter. Also, interaction between Avery and Abby only took place in the movie. I could’ve done without that.   

Three Out of Five Pearls 

Leave a Reply

