Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s Haters


Haters by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez | LibraryThing

Valdes-Rodriguez, A., & Parker, J. (2006). Haters. Prince Frederick, MD: Recorded Books. 9781428122031

Reasons for Reading Right before Easter break, I needed a short audiobook to keep me company on my way home from work. That’s when I noticed Haters on the shelf in the Teen Zone. So, I checked it out from HCPL.

Summary High schooler Pasquala Rumalda Quintana de Archuleta (“Paski”) lives with her graphic artist father in Taos, New Mexico. Nearby lives her grandma, a well-to-do psychic who communicates with the dead. Paski rides her mountain bike, hangs out with her best friend, and just began dating the cutest guy. Then, her dad drops the bomb; Hollywood picked up his graphic novels for movies and they’re moving to California. This news makes Paski miserable. Adding to her agony, Paski falls for the hottest guy at her new school, Chris Cabrera. He just happens to date Jessica Nguyen, the reigning queen of the Haters. To top it off, Paski must also deal with her own psychic abilities.

What I Liked: The fact that this was Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s first young adult novel left me amazed. She created identifiable characters, particularly Paski, and such a rich understanding of teen life. I completely believed the portrayal of her dad, too.

What I Disliked I absolutely loathe “abridgements.” Once I realized the audio happened to be such, I asked myself if I had truly read the book. Then, I requested the print edition and found several details didn’t make it onto the CDs. Seriously, abridged books should be illegal.

Four Out of Five Pearls

Song: GWEN STEFANI – RICH GIRL VIDEO – OFFICIAL – YouTube

Setting : Taos New Mexico, Orange County California

You might also like:

For more on Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s Haters, check out the following sites:
 
 
6 thoughts on “Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s Haters

  1. Pingback: Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s The Dirty Girls Social Club « Jorie's Reads

  2. Pingback: Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s Dirty Girls on Top « Jorie's Reads

  3. Pingback: Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s Playing with Boys « Jorie's Reads

  4. Pingback: Alisa Valdes’ Lauren’s Saints of Dirty Faith « Jorie's Reads

  5. Pingback: Siobhan Vivian’s The List « Jorie's Reads

  6. Pingback: National Hispanic Heritage Month – Alisa Valdes | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

Leave a Reply

