Mike Tolson, J.R. Gonzales, Steve Gonzales, and The Houston Chronicle’s Houston 175…


Houston 175: A pictorial celebration of Houston’s 175-year history by Mike Tolson | LibraryThing

Tolson, M., Gonzales, J. R., & Gonzales, S. (2011). Houston 175: A pictorial celebration of Houston’s 175-year history. Battle Ground, WA: Pediment Pub. 9781597253505

Reasons for Reading:  March 2, 2011 marked the 175th birthday of Texas. Also, my hometown celebrated its septaquintaquinquecentennial in 2011. Amid the big birthday fever, The Houston Chronicle published Houston 175: A pictorial celebration of Houston’s 175-year history. The newspaper advertised this book and I requested a copy from HCPL.

Summary: Mostly through pictures, Houston 175 relates the history of our fair city. This book boasts over 300 images from archives as well as the newspaper’s photographers and readership.

What I Liked : Houston 175 offers great images and some context to what life in H-Town is like today. When I can, I look forward to buying this book and letting my copy reside on my coffee table 🙂 . I especially liked the details on Hurricane Ike, the great storm overshadowed by stock market woes in 2008. Of course, I’m a bit biased since I’m a Houstonian.

What I Disliked : I wished for some more text. Yes, a picture is worth a thousand words but just a little more explanation would’ve been awesome.

Three Out of Five Pearls

Song: Archie Bell & The Drells – Tighten Up

Setting: Houston!

You might also like:

  •  Houston Heights (Images of America) by Anne Sloane
  • Historic Houston Streets by Mark Hinton
  • After Ike: Aerial Views from the No-Fly Zone (Gulf Coast Books, sponsored by Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi) by Bryan Carlile
  • Houston Then and Now (Then & Now) by William Dylan Powell
For more on The Houston Chronicle’s Houston 175…, please check out the following links:
Leave a Reply

