Seeing the Story – The Pelican Brief


The Pelican Brief – Theatrical release poster | Wikipedia

Pakula, A. J., Roberts, J., Washington, D., Grisham, J., Warner Bros. Pictures (1969- ), & Warner Home Video (Firm). (1994). The Pelican brief. Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video.

Reasons for Watching: I saw the movie around the time it came out . . . on VHS. When I eventually picked up the audiobook, I discovered I was comparing it to a movie I’d thought I’d forgotten. Well, this time, I requested and checked out the VHS from HCPL.

Summary :  Darby Shaw (Julia Roberts), a Tulane law student  unearths a crazy enough to be true explanation for the recent assassination of two Supreme Court justices. She writes about them in “The Pelican Brief” which, with the help of her law professor/boyfriend Thomas Callahan (Sam Shepard) reaches to the highest levels of the government. With the help of Washington Herald reporter Gray Grantham (Denzel Washington), Darby unveils an outstanding cover up by some of the biggest officials in the land.

Book to Movie Adaptation : The biggest difference would be Darby’s relationship with journalist Gray Grantham. For a spoiler difference, check out this link at Wikipedia.

Review : After I read the book, I wasn’t sure I wanted to see the movie again. I knew there would be big differences and I feared this would ruin the film for me. Yet, I did watch it again, rediscovering the great performance of Stanley Tucci (Khamel). Roberts and Washington were good but I was disappointed by the change in their relationship.

Three Out of Five Pearls 

Leave a Reply

