October Reader of the Month – Eva Marie B.


This is the tenth interview for Reader of the Month.

Eva Marie B.

When I settled into a desk in History of Jazz in Fall 2001, I found myself in front of Eva Marie B, one of many music students in the course. By the time we studied for our first exam in the course, I learned Eva Marie, unlike me, was taking the class not for fun and that she couldn’t stand Jazz. Nevertheless, we struck up a bond based on our many shared interests – faith, friendship, travel, learning, and reading.

1.      What’s the best thing you’ve read in the past year?

Crazy Love by Francis Chan

2.      Do you have any quirks when it comes to reading?

I don’t think so.

3.      What’s on your bookshelf or in your book bag?

The following books are on my shelf: Wild at Heart by John Eldredge; Real Worship: Playground, Battleground, or Holy Ground by Warren Wiersbe; Fear No Evil: A Test of Faith, a Courageous Church and an Unfailing God by Brady Boyd; Holy Bible (NASB); Holy Bible (NIV); La Biblia Santa (NVI); and Strength to Love (A compilation of speeches and sermons by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.)

4.      Who supplies your reading material?

I mostly buy my books via Amazon. Every now and then, I will check them out from the library.

5.      What type of reading do you usually enjoy?

I like fast reads. I also like non-fiction books about church and worship. I also like re-reading The Chronicles of Narnia.

6.      Who are some authors that you read regardless of anything?  

C.S. Lewis and Rick Warren

7.      What’s on your TBR (to be read) list?

He Talk like a White Boy by Joseph C. Phillips

8.      Can you recall a book that changed your life? How so?

Strength to Love challenged my thoughts and ideas of love and forgiveness. Dr. King emphasized that true forgiveness doesn’t demand an apology from the offender. True forgiveness doesn’t even require the offender to recognize that he or she was at fault. True forgiveness is setting someone free which in turn sets the forgiver free. Apart from God such forgiveness is impossible.

9.   What was something you enjoyed reading as a child?

Any and everything related to Winnie the Pooh

10.  Where do you like to read?

At home on my couch or on a blanket in the park or in the comfy chair at Panera Bread or in a quiet coffee shop

11.  Other than reading, what do you like doing?

I like to paint, sing, and play the piano and guitar. I also like visiting my family.

12.  Where can we find you online?

Facebook

13.  Would you like to make a shout out to any other avid readers that are online?

No matter how much I read, I’ll never catch up to the amount of books read by Miss Leah Gorham.

14.  What do you challenge people to read?

At least once a year read a book of an author whose worldview is different than yours.
15.   How about sharing five random facts about you?

  1. My favorite colors are baby pink and baby blue.
  2. I have always wanted to visit Puerto Rico, but I have yet to do so.
  3. I went dog sledding while in Canada.
  4. Eeyore and Simba are my two favorite cartoon characters.
  5. I have an adorable male peek-a-poo named Dyamand.
3 thoughts on “October Reader of the Month – Eva Marie B.

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ sharing blog news and book haul ~ Jorie’s 8th Edition « Jorie's Reads

  2. Pingback: Jorie’s Bookish Best Friends | Top Ten Tuesday | Jorie's Reads

Leave a Reply

