January 2013 Reader of the Month – Hallie S.


Hallie S.

Hallie S.

This is the thirteenth interview for Reader of the Month.

I remember meeting Hallie for the first time in eighth grade. As students in Ms. Combs’ Writer’s Workshop, I recall thinking Hallie’s doppelgänger starred in From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. Soon after, Hallie read us a piece she wrote about looking like this young actress. Later on, we both sang in the high school choir and roomed together during trips. Of course, she’s a reader, too!

1)      What’s the best thing you’ve read in the past year?

a)      I read a lot of historical fiction this summer.  If I have to pick a favorite, I would say The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory.

2)      Do you have any quirks when it comes to reading?

a)      The only quirk I can think of is one that really annoys my husband.  While I’m reading, I flick the corners of the pages.  Most of time I don’t realize I’m doing it.

3)      What’s on your bookshelf or in your book bag?

a)      Right now, I’m reading a bunch of Christian education and reformed theology books for my certification.

4)      Who supplies your reading material?

a)      My mother-in-law via Christmas and birthday gifts and my husband via ebooks for the iPad

5)      What type of reading do you usually enjoy?

a)      When I’m not reading stuff for work, I love reading the fantasy stuff, especially books about vampires (NOT Twilight).

6)      Who are some authors that you read regardless of anything?

a)      I’m a huge fan of Jasper Fforde, especially his Thursday Next and Nursery Crime series.  I’ll also read anything a friend publishes (Sabbath in the Suburbs by MaryAnn McKibben Dana).

7)      What’s on your TBR (to be read) list?

a)      I have everything from Graced Vulnerability: A Theology of Childhood to Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter on my Goodreads list!

8)      Can you recall a book that changed your life? How so?

a)      In a way, every book changes my life after I read it.  Most recently Elizabeth Caldwell’s books about children and worship have changed the way I think about teaching families and churches how to incorporate children into their faith practices.

9)      What was something you enjoyed reading as a child?

a)      My mom and I read all the Little House on the Prairie books together.  I have wonderful memories of sitting on the sofa with her and imagining the characters coming to life as she read to me.

10)  Where do you like to read?

a)      Somewhere comfortable, but not too comfortable

11)  Other than reading, what do you like doing?

a)      I like spending time with my wonderful husband and exploring our new home here in NC.

12)  Where can we find you online?

a)      When I’m not working or reading, I’m usually on Facebook or Goodreads.

13)  Would you like to make a shout out to any other avid readers that are online?

a)      I want to give a shout out to my friend Amy Rork in Texas who inspired me to keep reading! She reads 50 books every year, and I aspire to keep up with her.

14)  What do you challenge people to read?

a)      I hope that people would read a genre or author they wouldn’t normally read.  Using food as an example, you can’t say you don’t like Brussels sprouts until you’ve tried them.  I can hear my dad saying “try it, you’ll like it!”

15)  How about sharing five random facts about you?

  1. I’ve been to Europe twice. I went to Italy with my Mom when I was in high School, and I went to Ireland with my husband and the Irving Chorale in 2008. I hope to go back many more times before I die.
  2. I love chocolate and peanut butter. My favorite treats are Reese’s peanut butter cups, and my mom’s Fudge Filled Peanut Butter Bars.
  3. I was terrified of dogs for the first 19 years of my life. It all started when I was playing in my yard as a very small child, and our neighbors’ pit bull ran up to me and licked me (don’t laugh, it was traumatic). Then a few weeks later, my mom took me to see a live version of “Little Red Riding Hood”, and when the wolf jumped out I started screaming. I had nightmares every night for about 6 months after that. I still have one every once in a while.
  4. I met the author Marc Brown when I was in 1st grade. He visited my school, and I presented him with some Francine glasses that my art teacher made.
  5. I love Star Wars. My husband and I considered having Han Solo and Princess Leia on top of our wedding cake. We had 2 chocolate covered strawberries instead.
3 thoughts on “January 2013 Reader of the Month – Hallie S.

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ sharing blog news and book haul ~ Jorie’s 21st Edition « Jorie's Reads

  2. Pingback: Jorie’s Bookish Best Friends | Top Ten Tuesday | Jorie's Reads

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Hallie S.! | Jorie's Reads

Leave a Reply

