Jorie’s Top Ten Things @ the Library – National Library Week – Tuesday


Top Ten Tuesday | The Broke and the Bookish

For future Top Ten Tuesday topics & info on how to participate, click here!

 bridget’s top ten wow endings

(In honor of National Library Week, I present, yet again, some of the my favorite things about my employer – HCPL.)

  1. I can borrow rather than rent: books, eMedia, movies, seasons of TV shows, magazines, music, etc.
  2. As of April 15, 2013, I can check out DVDs for two weeks. That gives me more time with Call the Midwife!
  3. I can request materials if they’re not checked in at my branch.
  4. My library lets me renew materials I’ve checked out as long as no one else has requested it.
  5. I have access to databases which help me research, learn, and improve my daily life.
  6. Libraries often act as a commons, offering book clubs, interest groups, and presentations for their communities.
  7. I can go to my local branch and connect my laptop, Nook, and iPhone to my library’s public WiFi.
  8. If my printer is on the blink, I can go to the library, use their free Internet access, and print at the reasonable price of 10 cents/page.
  9. Sometimes my library doesn’t have a book I’m seeking but my library provides Inter-Library Loan Service. They do their best to bring that book to me.
  10. Many bigger library branches have rooms you can also borrow for meetings or just studying.
3 thoughts on “Jorie’s Top Ten Things @ the Library – National Library Week – Tuesday

Leave a Reply

