National Asian Pacific American Heritage Month – Jhumpa Lahiri


Jhumpa Lahiri | Goodreads

This post is part of a feature at Jorie’s Reads called “Celebrating Asian – Pacific American Authors! that Candice P. of WarmCuppaTea and I are doing this May.

My first memory of Jhumpa Lahiri was of the author talking about her new novel The Namesake with TV hostess Martha Stewart back in 2003. Lahiri’s description of Bengali immigrants having a son in Boston compelled me to request this book at HCPL. When her novel arrived, I could hardly put it down to eat or sleep.

According to the Gale Literary Database, Lahiri:

Born 1967, in London, England; daughter of a librarian and a teacher; married Alberto Vourvoulias (a journalist), January 15, 2001; children: two. Education: Barnard College, B.A.; Boston University, M.A. (English), M.A. (creative writing), M.A. (comparative literature and the arts), Ph.D. Addresses: Home: New York, NY.

As I’m not a big fan of short stories, I held off on reading her other books for years. Nonetheless, I gave in and was pleased with both of these collections. My only complaint was that I wanted to know more about these characters.

So, why am I making such a fuss? These characters, most of them of Bengali descent, are so different from me but I can identify with them. That’s Lahiri’s magic. Just give her a try and you’ll be mesmerized as well.

For Candice’s profile on Tite Kubo, check out her post “National Asian Pacific American Heritage Month – Tite Kubo – Creator of Bleach“.

 

5 thoughts on “National Asian Pacific American Heritage Month – Jhumpa Lahiri

  1. I enjoyed this book too, and my complaint was similar. The characters were so rich, I wanted to know more about each one. I felt like we were taking a road trip through each one’s lives only getting a glimpse at each one. However, that was also what I felt made the book a bit different!

  2. Pingback: National Asian Pacific American Heritage Month – Jorie’s Reads | warmcuppatea

  3. Pingback: National Asian Pacific American Heritage Month – Amy Tan | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

  4. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ sharing blog news and book haul ~ Jorie’s 36th Edition | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

  5. Pingback: Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Lowland | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

Leave a Reply

