Jude Deveraux’s Secrets


Jorie’s Store – Secrets: A Novel

 
Title and Author(s):  Jude Deveraux’s Secrets
Release Date:
May 06, 2008
Publisher: Atria Books

ISBN: 978-0743437189
Pages: 320
Source: Harris County Public Library

Add Book to Goodreads

Reasons for Reading: While I was waiting for books I’d requested, I had nothing to read. Naturally, I found myself at the library, looking for lighter reading material. I recalled that Jude Deveraux wrote contemporary, romantic suspense. Since I hadn’t read  one of her books in years, I found Secrets and checked it out from the library.

Summary: Cassie Madden lived under the thumb of her commandeering mother. At age twelve, Cassie meets the love of her life, Jefferson Ames, a young man who rescues her from drowning. Since then, Cassie has done everything to get away from her mother and be with Jeff.  After college, Cassie moves to  Williamsburg, VA where the widowed Jeff lives with his daughter, Elsbeth. Cassie becomes Elsbeth’s nanny and still can’t get Jeff to look at her.

Jeff’s neighbor, renowned acting legend Althea Fairmont, is a recluse. Then, Cassie hears shots coming from Althea’s estate. That’s when Cassie discovers that Althea knows a great many secrets. These secrets turn Cassie’s quiet life upside down.

One Thing I Learned from reading Jude Deveraux’s SecretsI didn’t quite realize that there was a “Colonial Williamsburg” and the “rest of Williamsburg.”

What I Liked: I enjoyed Cassie’s character. She was smart and funny. While she may have been naive, I think she was pretty cool. I found the parts about Williamsburg and gardening interesting, too.

What I Disliked: The story seems to have some holes in it. However, if you go in for a reading joyride, it’s not so bad 😉

Song: The All-American Rejects – Dirty Little Secret

You might also like:

For more on Jude Deveraux’s Secrets, check out the following sites:

3 thoughts on “Jude Deveraux’s Secrets

  1. Pingback: The Monday Post ~ sharing blog news and book haul ~ Jorie’s 39th Edition | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

  2. Pingback: Jude Deveraux’s Lavender Morning (Edilean Series #1) | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

Leave a Reply

