August 2013 Reader of the Month – Leo G.


Leo G.

Leo G.

This is the twentieth interview for Reader of the Month.

While taking Texas History at Baylor, I had to write a term paper. Mine was about the village of Salado, Texas. This meant I had to visit the library which held the Texas Collection. There, I saw this guy also poring over small towns. I asked him “Aren’t you in Texas History?” He nodded. Ever since them, I associate Leo G. with libraries and Mr. Carlson – whoever that is! Over the years, social media lets me keep up with Leo and what he’s reading!

1.      What’s the best thing you’ve read in the past year?

 The Leftovers: Basketball, Betrayal, Baylor and Beyond by Matt Sayman.  I’m a huge Baylor sports fans.  This book, written by a former Baylor basketball play who played for the Bears during the horrendous murder scandal, is heart-breaking but also makes you want to stand up and cheer at times.

2.      Do you have any quirks when it comes to reading?

Nothing unusual!

3.      What’s on your bookshelf or in your book bag?

Mostly music books: Training Soprano Voices by Richard Miller; The Private Studio Handbook by Joan Boytim; Music for the Voice by Sergius Kagen; Sondheim and Lloyd-Webber by Stephen Citron; The Dictionary of Opera by Charles Osborne.

4.      Who supplies your reading material?

About half are purchased through Amazon and the other half come from the local Half Price Books

5.      What type of reading do you usually enjoy?

Even though I still read some fiction, my taste is decidedly non-fiction these days. I love books pertaining to music, movies, sports, and politics.

6.      Who are some authors that you read regardless of anything?

C.S. Lewis, John Grisham, Richard Miller, Madeline L’Engle and Charles Dickens

7.      What’s on your TBR (to be read) list?

Friday Night Lights, the book that inspired the movie and series.  I’ve been meaning to read that for years!

8.      Can you recall a book that changed your life? How so?

Charlotte’s Web, the first” novel” that I ever read.  What an emotional book to read as an 8-year old!  I became an avid novel reader after reading it.

9.     What was something you enjoyed reading as a child?

The Chronicles of Narnia   I also loved reading books in the Bunnicula series

10.   Where do you like to read?

On my bed and away from as many distractions as possible.

11.   Other than reading, what do you like doing?

I love to sing, watch movies, attend or watch sporting events, and traveling—though I wish I could afford to do more of that.

12.   Where can we find you online?

Facebook!  My friends can attest that I am an addict 🙂

13.   Would you like to make a shout out to any other avid readers that are online?

Yes, to two of my elementary teachers who instilled a great love of reading in me: Mrs. Ann Perkins and Mrs. Sandy Stouffer

14.  What do you challenge people to read?

I challenge people to read books in a genre that they usually try to avoid, be it Sci-Fi, fantasy, romance, graphic novels, etc.  I’ve read quite a few books that have surprised me in how much I actually enjoyed reading them.

15. What would you like to see on Jorie’s Reads by Starry Night Elf?  

Jorie does a terrific job with reviews and presenting literary news!  Can’t think of anything she needs to add.

16.   How about sharing five random facts about you?
I am a HUGE sports fan, even though I am horrible at playing all sports!

Spanish was my first language, and up until I attended grade school, I spoke quite a bit more Spanish than English.

I’m an only child.

I can’t stand hot weather.  Don’t know why I still live in Texas!

To say that I’m a movie fan would be an understatement.

Leave a Reply

