Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (Revisited Challenge)


Alice’s Adventure’s in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll | Jorie’s Store @ Amazon

 
Title and Author(s):  Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Release Date: May 15, 2007

Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks

ISBN: 9789629543860
Hours: 2 hours, 59 minutes
Source: Harris County Public Library Digital Media Catalog 

* 1001 Books Book

Add Book to Goodreads

Reasons for Reading: I read/listened to Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland back in 2010 but didn’t review it. Carroll’s classic was part of my Revisited Challenge and it received the most votes. Thus, I picked up an audio version for the second time.

Summary: Young, precocious Alice finds herself quite bored while sitting on the banks of the River Isis with her older sister. However, the talking, clothed, and tardy White Rabbit runs past and catches Alice’s attention. “Curiouser and curiouser…” Alice follows White Rabbit down a rabbit hole and tumbles down a long way passed many locked doors of varying sizes. When Alice lands, she finds herself to big to fit through a tiny door. Yet, she glimpses a lovely garden. As Alice sees a bottle labeled “DRINK ME,” she does just that. Thus, a whimsical, nonsensical adventure begins for Alice.

One Thing I Learned from this book: Many expressions we use today came from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland such as “Down the Rabbit-Hole,” and “Curiouser and curiouser!” Each time I listened to the book, I repeatedly found myself thinking “Oh, that came from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.”

What I Liked: I liked Alice’s fondness for her kitty cat – Dinah. I was happy that I got the audio version because there were many readers and I heard “The Lobster Quadrille.”

What I Disliked: I believe I have to be in the mood for “nonsense” to read and/or listen to it. As a child, I found all of this rather silly. Let’s just say I preferred less fantastical stuff.

RR - Green  Rainbow Rating: Green – Parental Guidance 


Song: 
What You Waiting For? (Clean Version) by Gwen Stefani | Vevo

You might also like:

For more, check out the following sites:

3 thoughts on “Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (Revisited Challenge)

  1. Thanks for the link. I have to say I’m with you on nonsense literature. I have to be feeling a big nonsensical myself.

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ sharing blog news and book haul ~ Jorie’s 55th Edition | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

  3. About the nonsense- I actually loved that aspect of Alice in Wonderland. That’s why it’s one of my favorite books. I don’t feel like it HAS to make sense, but I enjoy looking for deeper meaning behind it. I see it as more than just a kid’s book (: I am ALWAYS in the mood for Lewis Carroll.

Leave a Reply

