TBTB (Throwback Thursday Books) – Lois Lowry’s Number the Stars


 

 Lois Lowry’s historical fiction account of ten-year-old Christian Annemarie Johansen and her best friend, Jewish Ellen Rosen in World War II-era  Denmark made quite an impression on me in elementary school. Many things appealed to me about this book – the genre, the setting (my  surname, by the way, is Danish), the Johansen family’s act of selflessness, and Denmark’s peaceful resistance. I joyfully read Number the Stars   again at various points in my academic career. A few weeks ago, I led a tour at the library. When I showed the group the Newbery Medalists, I  mentioned this classic. Why hasn’t Hollywood made this into a movie?

 

 

 

 

To read more about Lois Lowry’s Number the Stars, click on the +Add to Goodreads button below

Goodreads 

For more walks down memory lane, check out my page for #tbtb:

books tbt

2 thoughts on “TBTB (Throwback Thursday Books) – Lois Lowry’s Number the Stars

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ sharing blog news and book haul ~ Jorie’s 68th Edition | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

  2. Pingback: TBTB (Throwback Thursday Books) – Lois Lowry’s The Giver | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

Leave a Reply

