Kass Morgan’s The 100


The 100 (The 100 Series)

The 100 (The 100 Series) by Kass Morgan | Jorie’s Store @ Amazon

 

Title: The 100
Author: Kass Morgan
ISBN: 978-0316234474
Length: 336 pages
Publication Date: September 3, 2013
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Genre: Science Fiction
Source: Harris County Public Library

Goodreads

Reasons for Reading: I heard about the upcoming series on The CW. While I normally read the books before I see the movie, I often do the reverse when it comes to TV shows. However, I held out on the show with Kass Morgan’s The 100. Also, I broke my own rule about reading a series before the author finished the series. Thus, I checked out this first book from HCPL.

Summary: (A little background) In a bleak future, humans dwell in ships which orbit a practically abandoned planet Earth. Earth may still have too much radiation for humans to live on it. Due to limited space and dwindling resources, draconian laws rule the day. It’s unclear whether people are permitted to procreate or if they’re limited to just one child. Also, even among the ships, there are “better neighborhoods.” Apparently slight infractions incur the death penalty (known as “being floated”) for adults. Minors await their eighteenth birthdays, trial, and much the same penalty.

 (Story Time) However, push has come to shove. Clarke, the first of four points of view (POV) offered in The 100, finds herself being dragged from solitary confinement to board a ship headed for Earth. The grown ups have decided to send a hundred juvenile delinquents to Earth to test the waters. If these kiddos can make it, then the humans may try to “go home.” The daughter of floated scientists, Clarke has minimal training in medicine. Other POVs come from ex-boyfriend Wells, the son of the chancellor, and Bellamy, a risk-taker who will do anything to protect his ill-gotten little sister, Octavia. These two manipulated their way onto the Earthbound ship but the last POV, a girl named Glass, snuck off the ship. All four POVs face the same question: survival.

One Thing I Learned from this book: I learned what sort of society I wouldn’t want to live in if Earth fell to radioactive ruin. 🙂

What I Liked: Unlike many other reviewers, I appreciated all four POVs. When I tired of one’s angle, a new chapter and POV began. I liked the scenes where characters rediscovered Earth.

What I Disliked: I usually appreciate flashbacks but I found them tedious after a while. Another thing that irked was the cliffhanger ending. I completely expected it but was still disappointed by the cliché of it. Also, lines such as “The first kiss on Earth in centuries” were gagging. Lastly, I wanted more description of the setting.

RR - Yellow  Rainbow Rating: Yellow – Parental Guidance for Kids Under 13

Song: From Myself – Paul Hovermale

You might also like:

For more, check out the following sites:

2 thoughts on “Kass Morgan’s The 100

  1. Pingback: A Confession Regarding Small Screen Adaptations | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Post ~ Jorie’s 74th Edition | Jorie's Reads by Starry Night Elf

Leave a Reply

